35-36 weeks and lovely false labor

3 07 2012

I forgot to write a post last week!  It’s been a busy past few days :).  I am just about 36 weeks now, and my body is continuing to get closer to labor.  My baby is now about 18.75 inches and 5.75 lb, which is the weight and height of me when I was born, so it’s pretty amazing thinking my baby is as big as I was at birth!

On Friday night, (after watching some epic fireworks), I woke up around 2:30 am feeling horrible!  I was in a lot of pain and half awake and thirsty, but my pelvis hurt so much that I couldn’t get up to go get more water.  James woke up to realize I was struggling and got me some water.  But I was having some intense contractions that I couldn’t speak through, so we called the on-call dr and they told us to come in (since I wasn’t at 37 weeks yet).  I got monitored for a few hours at the hospital, and it turns out they were false labor contractions, made worse by my dehydration and low blood sugar.  My BP had jumped up a bit too, so they kept me there for about 2 hours just to see how I was doing.  They also checked me and turns out I am 1 cm dilated and 50% effaced, so my body is definitely preparing for the big day!  They sent me back home, and let me know at this point, the baby can come at any time and even though I am a week from full term, they wouldn’t stop my labor if it started.

The next day, I felt pretty good and made sure to soak in the tub to help my pelvic pain, which really helped.  After another night of crazy fireworks (and one falling over and shooting at the house, which resulted in me, my mom, and nieces totally freaking out and running inside), I had some pretty intense Braxton Hicks combined with my pelvis hurting so bad I couldn’t even walk to the bathroom!  That was very unpleasant, and to make things even more crazy, I woke up twice throughout the night feeling like I had the stomach flu, combined with another intense contraction.  Definitely not fun!  Amazingly, the next day I felt good, mainly because I rested most of the day and drank lots of water.  And I slept well last night!  W00t.

So, it’s been a crazy few days, but I am comforted to know that it’s just part of my body getting closer to the big day!  And now I know what false labor feels like (definitely more intense than I thought it would be), so I can stay calm and just breathe through them.  And thankfully, they occur only a few times a day now.

In other news, firework season is here!  Which means lots of awesome hanging out with friends and family.  It should be a fun next few days of fellowship!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

