3 months old and one year ago…

1 11 2012

It’s obviously been awhile since I’ve written in little Theo’s baby blog.  Most of you have seen details on Facebook, as I post there quite often.  But sometimes it’s nice to post outside of that social media.  

I was thinking about a year ago, just when Theo was becoming a “twinkle in daddy’s eye” as we call it.  We had just planned on starting for a child, after much discussion.  We at first wanted to wait until we had a house until we had a child (which actually did happen), but we decided it was time to begin.

I had been baby crazy for awhile, many of my friends were starting to have kids and I didn’t get a teaching job for the 2nd year running.  I always knew I wanted to teach for a few years then start a family.  I didn’t want to wait too long to have a child, and I didn’t want to have to wait a whole other year to see if I could get a teaching job.

And so it began.  We certainty did not expect to get pregnant right away, and were shocked that by Thanksgiving I was showing all the symptoms.  By the time we got home, we tested, and sure enough, I was pregnant!

It’s been a whirlwind from there.  Not too long after, we realized it might be better to get a house before we have a child.  We began looking in February, and by March, we made the big decision to build a house.  By June, we were moved in and couldn’t believe we would be having our son just a couple months later.

Now, Theo is 3 months old and a thriving little boy.  My days are filled with the joy of sharing in Theo’s first experiences.  Today, he grabbed his football toy and lifted it!  I was completely overjoyed.  It seemed like such a small thing, but it was his first time lifting a toy!  That’s a big deal to me.  He also rolled over twice on his own, another big feat.  There is never a dull day, every one is filled with new excitements and  occasionally fussy times (just had one of those).

In any case, motherhood is better that I imagined.  Once I got passed the crazy newborn schedule and recovery from surgery, things started looking way up.  It took about 2 months to get there, but now every passing day is a new adventure.  Theo’s personality is starting to show, and he’s very interested in the world.  He loves playtime, and cuddling even more.  He also loves to talk and smiles when you respond in his cooing language.  He loves to eat, and smiles when I get him ready to nurse or make him up a bottle.  All in all, he’s a happy, smart, funny boy that I cherish every moment that I have with him.Image

Actions

Information

One response

15 11 2012
Mom

I cherish my sweet little grandson and seeing you grow into a fantastic mom. Theo is a very well cared for little boy.

Leave a Reply

